Institute of Regional Science

Regional research focus Bangladesh

The world's tropical coastal areas are

  • for the most part densely populated,
  • important economic centres and
  • permanently threatened by natural disasters as well as by an ongoing loss of resources,

rendering them highly vulnerable. Land use conflicts caused by competition for resources are aggravated. The cumulation of disastrous natural phenomenons which are forecasted as a result of the climate change for instance confront these regions with additional risks, causing the need for adopted planning strategies and measures. 

One of the regional foci of the Institute of Regional Science to study the complex cooperation of these processes is Bangladesh, a country whose coastal areas are often affected by tropical cyclones and floods with catastrophic effects.

At first, the research interest focuses on the analysis of

  • measurable and observable processes,
  • the reaction of the coastal population to these disasters and hazard risks and
  • the question which impacts external interventions in case of disastrous events have in the long run.

Besides, basics in view of an adaptable and compatible development and planning strategy in coastal areas are worked out.

In the framework of the regional research focus Bangladesh, these questions are investigated on site by means of empirical social research methods and in cooperation with local research teams. Also dissertations and Master's theses at the KIT regularly deal with questions of vulnerability of the southwestern coastal area of Bangladesh.

The regional research focus Bangladesh is closely connected with the research areas of  transformation of environment and resources, transformation of economy and society, method-integration as well as municipal management.

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

Regionaler Forschungsschwerpunkt Bangladesch

Die tropischen Küstengebiete der Welt sind

  • meist dicht besiedelt,
  • bedeutende wirtschaftliche Zentren und
  • ständig durch Naturkatastrophen sowie kontinuierliche Ressourcenverluste gefährdet,

so dass die Vulnerabilität der Küstengebiete sehr hoch ist. Durch Ressourcenkonkurrenzen bedingte Landnutzungskonflikte werden verstärkt. Die Zunahme von katastrophal wirkenden Naturereignissen, wie sie beispielsweise aufgrund des Klimawandels prognostiziert werden, führen in diesen Regionen zu zusätzlichen Risiken und der Notwendigkeit angepasster Planungen und Maßnahmen.

Einer der regionalen Schwerpunkte des Instituts für Regionalwissenschaft zur Erforschung dieser komplex zusammen wirkenden Prozesse ist Bangladesch, dessen Küstenräume häufig von tropischen Zyklonen und katastrophal wirkenden Überschwemmungen betroffen sind.

Das Forschungsinteresse besteht zunächst in einer Analyse

  • der mess- und beobachtbaren Prozesse,
  • der Reaktion der Küstengesellschaften auf diese Katastrophen und -risiken und
  • der Frage, wie Interventionen von außen, die bei Katastrophen erfolgen, langfristig wirken.

Außerdem werden Grundlagen für eine anpassungsfähige und verträgliche Entwicklung und Planung in den Küstengebieten erarbeitet.

Im Rahmen des regionalen Forschungsschwerpunktes Bangladesch werden diese Fragestellungen anhand von Methoden der empirischen Sozialforschung vor Ort untersucht. Dabei erfolgt eine Zusammenarbeit mit Forschergruppen des Landes. Auch Dissertationen und Masterarbeiten am KIT und am Institut für Regionalwissenschaft beschäftigen sich immer wieder mit Fragen der Vulnerabilität des südwestlichen Küstengebietes in Bangladesch.

Der Regionale Forschungsschwerpunkt Bangladesch ist eng gekoppelt mit den thematischen Forschungsbereichen Transformation von Umwelt und Ressourcen, Transformation von Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft, Methoden-Integration sowie Kommunales Management.

Bangladesh