Institute of Regional Science

Developing countries research

Developing countries research, and development research in general, are the core research and teaching areas of the Institute of Regional Science and the Master’s degree course in Regional Science/Spatial Planning.

In cooperation with international research groups in the corresponding regions, the special problems of underdevelopment that particularly affect countries in tropical and sub-tropical regions are analysed by a transdisciplinary and problem-centred approach. Based on a regional analysis, strategies to solve spatial development problems and conflicts are worked out. In this context, currently, the role of national states as reference areas decreases. On one hand, this loss of importance is due to extensive globalisation processes, and on the other hand, it is caused by the increasing disparities within the countries themselves, where underdeveloped and advanced regions co-exist on often diverging development paths.

In this context, regional paths of development can only be understood by integrating the natural landscapes as well as the economic and social conditions in the analysis and development of concepts. At the same time, global theories are losing importance as structures and processes embedded in an increasingly fragmented environment and happen in a spatially differentiated way.

The research concept of the Institute of Regional Science accommodates these conditions by conducting a substantiated regional analysis as a basis for the implementation concept. This analysis is geared towards the requirements of the problem in view of transdisciplinarity and a specific reference to space.

Typical topics of development research include:

  • the analysis of spatial development paths,
  • conflicts about land use and resources,
  • food insecurity and its causes,
  • effects of natural extreme events on regional communities affected by their disastrous consequences,
  • vulnerability of regional communities to hazards, and factors influencing this vulnerability,
  • effects of climate change on regional systems.

Problems similar to those of underdevelopment also exist in regions of social transformation, notably after the transition of command economies (“centrally planned economy“) to different market-based economy systems. Therefore, the analysis of these structures and processes is another focus of the Master’s degree course in Regional Science/Spatial Planning.

Focus Bangladesh
Focus West Africa

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

Bereich Entwicklungsländerforschung

Die Entwicklungsländerforschung – oder, ohne den Länderbezug – Entwicklungsforschung ist in Forschung und Lehre das zentrale Forschungsfeld des Instituts für Regionalwissenschaft und des Masterstudienganges Regionalwissenschaft/Raumplanung. In einem transdisziplinären und international mit Forschergruppen in den entsprechenden Regionen vernetzten Ansatz werden die speziellen Themen der Unterentwicklung, die vor allem in den Ländern der Tropen und Subtropen von zentraler Bedeutung sind, problembezogen analysiert. Aus der Regionalanalyse werden Konzepte zur Lösung räumlicher Entwicklungsprobleme und Konflikte erarbeitet. Nationalstaaten als Bezugsräume verlieren dabei gegenwärtig an Bedeutung, einerseits wegen der vielfältigen Globalisierungsprozesse, andererseits wegen der zunehmenden Disparitäten innerhalb der Länder, in denen unterentwickelte und hoch entwickelte Regionen auf häufig divergierenden Entwicklungspfaden nebeneinander bestehen.

Regionale Entwicklungspfade sind dabei nur verständlich, wenn man die naturräumlichen Voraussetzungen, die ökonomischen Bedingungen und die gesellschaftlichen Verhältnisse mit in die Analyse und die Erarbeitung von Konzepten einbezieht. Gleichzeitig verlieren allgemeine Theorien an Bedeutung, weil Strukturen und Prozesse in einer zunehmenden Fragmentierung räumlich differenziert erfolgen.

Dem trägt das Forschungskonzept des Instituts für Regionalwissenschaft und des Masterstudienganges Regionalwissenschaft/Raumplanung dadurch Rechnung, dass vor der Erarbeitung von Lösungskonzepten stets eine fundierte regionale Analyse erfolgt, die den Erfordernissen der Problemstellung in Bezug auf Transdisziplinarität und konkretem Regionalbezug entspricht.

Typische Themen der Entwicklungsforschung sind

  • die Analyse regionaler Entwicklungspfade,
  • Raumnutzungskonflikte und Ressourcenkonflikte,
  • Ernährungsunsicherheiten und ihre Ursachen,
  • Folgen von extremen Naturereignissen auf regionale Gesellschaften, in denen katastrophale Wirkungen entstehen,
  • Anfälligkeiten von regionalen Gesellschaften für Katastrophen (Vulnerabilitäten) und diese beeinflussende Faktoren,
  • Folgen des Klimawandels für regionale Systeme.

Ähnliche Probleme wie diejeinigen der Unterentwicklung bestehen in den Räumen der gesellschaftlichen Transformation, vor allem nach dem Übergang von der Zentralverwaltungswirtschaft („Planwirtschaft“) in unterschiedliche marktwirtschaftliche Systeme. Daher besteht in der Analyse dieser Strukturen und Prozesse ein weiterer Schwerpunkt des Masterstudienganges.